Society of Hosts

Founded in 1962, the Society of Hosts (SOH) today is an organization of Florida State hospitality management alumni and current majors who work together to maintain the tradition of success and excellence of the Dedman School of Hospitality.

Evolution of the Society of Hosts at Florida State University:

  • 1951 - Founding of “The Scullions,” a society of hotel and restaurant students
  • 1962 - The Scullions evolves into "The Society of Hosts”
  • 1992 - The Society of Hosts becomes a hospitality alumni organization
  • 2013 - The Society of Hosts expands its membership to include both alumni and students
Engaging as a Member

Alumni members network and reconnect with fellow Florida State hospitality alumni, meet and hire the best and brightest student members, and enjoy events such as the Honors & Awards Dinner. For information about getting involved, contact Ashley Milton,  Alumni Relations Coordinator.

Board of the Society of Hosts

The Society of Hosts board president is Chris Burr (’81), director, Nontraditional Development, Dunkin’ Donuts. Board members include:

  • Gail Alexander (’90), Executive Director, Broadview Assisted Living
  • Jeff Bell (’83), Executive Vice President, Hillstone Restaurant Company
  • Dennis BeMent (’68), Retired, Buena Vista HospitalityGroup
  • Chris Borders (’75), Retired, Atlanta Athletic Club
  • Cyd Bougae (’75), Assistant Professor, New York University
  • Janine Budzius (’86), General Manager & COO, Philadelphia Country Club
  • Jay Burleson (’98), Director of Membership & Communication, Florida Transportation Builders' Association
  • Chris Burr (’81), Director, Nontraditional Development, Dunkin’ Brands
  • Ken Creely (’66), President & CEO, Golf Management Solutions
  • Christine Hilgert (’92), Vice President, Meeting Expectations
  • Claudine Leger-Wetzel (’85), Vice President of Sales and Marketing, Stock Development
  • Jeff Ohara (’89), President, Allied PRA New Orleans
  • Jim Riscigno (’66), Founder and COO, ClubSpecialists International
  • Brett Sherman (’04), PGA Certified Pro/Facility Manager, The Villages Florida
  • Jay Towers (’75), Retired
  • Bill Wagner (’67), General Manager/COO, Shadow Wood Country Club
  • Dennis Webb (’81), Regional Sales Manager, Empson (USA) Inc.
  • Brian West (’97), General Manager, Willow Point Golf & Country Club
  • David Williams (’03), PGA Facility Manager, Cane Garden Country Club